1. Welcome,
    SXSNation is a UTV Community that brings enthusiasts together regardless of brand, a place to find local rides, partake in discussion, buy or sell within a marketplace, or just rant about anything side by sides. Interact directly with top Vendors in the Industry, find exclusive discounts and specials and participate in weekly giveaways! If you haven't registered yet, what are you waiting for?
    Dismiss Notice

Balancing of Primary Clutch

Discussion in 'RZR Nation' started by Levi, Apr 19, 2019.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

1. Levi

Levi Levi SXS Nation Rookie

Side X Side(s):

2016 RZR 1000 XP4

Hello all, new to this forum. Had a roller for one of the shift weights go bad on me, so I am taking the clutch apart to replace the serviceable/wear items. Machine is 2016 1000 xp4, has 1800 miles on it now and I bought it with 275 miles. I am new to Polaris clutches, they're a little different than I'm used to. I marked the cap, spider, moveable and stationary sheaths before I began disassembly so it went back the same way it came apart. When taking apart I noticed "x"s in the castings. The cap and spider were off by 120° from each other, and the stationary sheath was off by another 60°. Question is, are those "x"s there for balancing and should I try to line them back up? Or put it back together to the reference lines I made? I am worried the previous owner was in the clutch and reassembled incorrectly. Reason being, the weights are 29-70 and when I was buying them to match what was in the machine, I found that those are not the OEM shift weights. So I am thinking someone has been in the clutch. Thanks for any help!

Last edited: Apr 19, 2019
  2. RWB713

RWB713 Richard SXS Nation Regular

Side X Side(s):

2018 Polaris RZR XPT4

What model & year is it? I believe those X's are indeed balance marks, They were on my 2012 XP 900 anyway. I think they've quit marking them on the newer models, as my 18 Turbo has no marks at all.

3. Levi