1. Welcome,
    SXSNation is a UTV Community that brings enthusiasts together regardless of brand, a place to find local rides, partake in discussion, buy or sell within a marketplace, or just rant about anything side by sides. Interact directly with top Vendors in the Industry, find exclusive discounts and specials and participate in weekly giveaways! If you haven't registered yet, what are you waiting for?
    Dismiss Notice

Best Unit for Plowing

Discussion in 'General Side X Side Discussions' started by nealalsup, Oct 11, 2020.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

Tags:
  1. nealalsup

nealalsup Neal SXS Nation Rookie

Side X Side(s):

n/a

Hi all -
    I'm new to the SXS world and am looking to buy a used 2 seat UTV for plowing in the winter. I really like the Ranger 500, but the belt drive makes me nervous if/when pushing heavy snow. Do you all have recommendations for make/model best to plow? Thanks - N

2. Seastacker

Seastacker Carl Moderator

Side X Side(s):

2019 Polaris General 4

I plowed the crap out of the snow with my Ranger 500. I plowed in low gear and never had an issue at all. I found the short wheel base was great for maneuvering. I wish I had had power steering with the added weight of the plow up front though. I did add a couple sand bags to the bed for a bit of extra traction.
    I had a you tube video of the Ranger plowing. Let me see if I can find it.

3. Seastacker

Side X Side(s):

2019 Polaris General 4

Here you go. It was a Polaris poly plow. It worked well on that little Ranger. I never felt any lack of power at all. That 500 has plenty of grunt. The video is about 6" of average snow. I went around and did a few of the neighbors as well as our drive. You will make plenty of friends having a little plow set up like this.
    I plow now with my General 4 which also works very well, but I miss the maneuverability of the Ranger.

4. nealalsup

nealalsup Neal SXS Nation Rookie

Side X Side(s):

n/a