1. Welcome,
    SXSNation is a UTV Community that brings enthusiasts together regardless of brand, a place to find local rides, partake in discussion, buy or sell within a marketplace, or just rant about anything side by sides. Interact directly with top Vendors in the Industry, find exclusive discounts and specials and participate in weekly giveaways! If you haven't registered yet, what are you waiting for?
    Dismiss Notice

Commander Heat Shielding/Noise Reduction

Discussion in 'General Side X Side Discussions' started by Juic3Mane, Mar 11, 2019.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

1. Juic3Mane

Juic3Mane Andrew SXS Nation Rookie

New Commander owner here! First SxS so I’m still learning lol. I made a post about a week ago regarding some advice on my first purchase and I appreciate everyone who provided input.

Now my next task.. I read before purchasing where the Commanders get a lot of heat/noise in the cab area. Put about 3 hours on the machine this past weekend in 55-60 degree weather at a medium-intensity pace and could feel a little heat, not too bad. Will probably be pretty hot this summer however in the humid, 90s/100s TN heat.. Cab noise was manageable but pretty loud at mid/high speeds. Not really worried about verbally communicating with others as much as hearing the radio. Really have to blast the music! Lol. I’ve read where others have wrapped the exhaust and lined the inner console panels with Thermo Tec liner to help out. Anyone have any experience or advice on it? As far as effectiveness and how easy/tedious of a project it is. Also if it’s worth it, about how much would it take and are there alternative brands or DIY solutions other than the Thermo Tec? I’ve seen it around $50-60 a sheet online, not sure what size that is though..

Also including a pic of the new ride :D she’s not much but I’m proud of her!

1742649F-7E4F-4548-9900-DED9A21A2026.jpeg 85986D59-B37D-4504-BDBE-F96B922BD8CD.jpeg

KeithStone76 and DieselFume like this.