1. Welcome,
    SXSNation is a UTV Community that brings enthusiasts together regardless of brand, a place to find local rides, partake in discussion, buy or sell within a marketplace, or just rant about anything side by sides. Interact directly with top Vendors in the Industry, find exclusive discounts and specials and participate in weekly giveaways! If you haven't registered yet, what are you waiting for?
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie looking for purchase advise

Discussion in 'General Side X Side Discussions' started by IRGU4U, Nov 10, 2020.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 3)

1. IRGU4U

IRGU4U BRAD SXS Nation Rookie

Wife and I are looking to enter SXS market. Our criteria:
    1. looking to ride trails in Ohio and contiguous states; got hooked renting at Hatfield McCoy trails in WV; we are older, don't plan on abusing the equipment;
    2. Want 2 seats not 4;
    3. I am not a mechanic, so reliability is primo;
    4. We are very tall, so size matters, but not so wide that we can't pass others we meet on trails (72" too wide)
    5. My motorcycle shop sells Honda, Kawasaki, Polaris, Yamaha
    6. My very trusted and capable mechanic only hates dealing with one brand/model, and that has been the Honda Talon. Hates the reliability of the transmission and hates Honda's customer service / lack of standing behind bad product design; he recommends KRX and Polaris
    7. Wifey likes gadgets, like cameras, stereo and Nav, but to me it seems like an easy break on equip to be used on trails and mud/wet;

Can you tell me what to avoid or look for? I searched forum, but info looked dated (2018/2019)

Advice appreciated, especially if you work on these things...

2. 89sandman

89sandman Biff SXS Nation Rookie

Side X Side(s):

Yxz, Rzr